Main Menu

Frustrating rolling marbles

Started by Rascal, June 15, 2014, 05:50:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rascal

I'm starting to try boro and have a marble class with Glenn in July so thought I'd try some (very simple) marbles to get a feeling for the glass so I'm not a total novice and send Glenn round the twist (although that may still happen!).

Did plain yesterday but didn't use the kiln as just trying to get round shape so didn't think it was worth it. They went ok so decided to try the mushroom technique in the marble and use the kiln. Did 3, one fell on floor rolled over a bit of effetre glass I'd not cleaned up so cracked and the other 2 rolled out the kiln onto the floor and are both ruined. I'm using a shelf as I didn't think you were meant to put glass on the kiln floor (not sure why just something I read) but it means the surface is so smooth any slight movement and the marbles are rolling.  Very frustrated and not a happy bunny.

So how do you stop your marbles rolling out the kiln and what do you use to transfer the marble to the kiln, I've got some hot fingers but didn't find them easy to release the marble?

Thanks for any help

Lotti

I have a flat bed kiln and use some glass rods that I have melted into an L shape and that stops the marbles making a bid for freedom!  I also use an infinate rim marble mold and tip the marble from that straight onto the kiln bed floor.  Tuffers have just recently got in a supply of cool tools that you can use to pick up your marbles with (ready for Glenn's course I believe), they look brilliant :)

http://tuffnellglass.com/contents/en-uk/p3574_Product_3534.html

Have fun practicing and hope you enjoy your course, they are very addictive! :)

ajda